Drinking coffee…

Hey guys, that’s me again. Was a busy week and there are so many things I need to think about too. I’m trying to apply for a course in Euro, the deadline is coming, I had to “take care” of my CV, make it nicer and more professional, write a motivation letter, prepare for an interview after application. Although writing is my favourite thing to do but sometimes I really need an idea or emotion to do it, not something under pressure. When was in Vietnam I always could find things to write about, or feelings which pushed me to write about something, but since I came here it has become less and less. At the beginning I thought that because I wasn’t used to living somewhere far away, and from time to time when I could handle everything I will find inspiration to write again but nope. Why? I think I have the answer for that already.

So I’m a coffee lover, I go to coffee everyday, spend hours there, in my corner, smell coffee, drink coffee, enjoy coffee, see people and write. That was the way my inspiration came, but here drink coffee’s habit is very different, how different? Let me compare for you.

So how does coffee shop is in Vietnam? There are many coffee shops in Vietnam, big, very big, small, very small, you can buy coffee everywhere, even when stopped at traffic lights (but of course we never do it). Many but they all have style, and when you come to a coffee shop somehow you can see the owner’s style, same same but different, sometimes we go there because of style more than coffee, something is like atmosphere.

They have a book coffee shop – where it is very quiet with a lot of books, people come to drink coffee and read a book, everyone is so quiet and respectful.

They have a cat coffee shop for cat lovers.

They have coffee shops which belong to a bike or motorbike lover with old bikes of different styles which he collected from somewhere in the world – where people have the same taste come and talk about it.

They have European coffee shop from a couple who had studied and lived in Euro during their youth for a long time – where they share their experience to keep memories about beautiful times in their life.

They have classical coffee shops which are simple, not much decor but always give you a cozy feeling, feel like somewhere you always wanna come back for some reasons.

They have a plant coffee shop for green lovers – where you can come to breath, to get out of the busy city with dirt and smoke from traffic.

They have fancy coffee shops – where you can invite customers or business partners for some quick chat and not too formal.

And one more thing that in coffee shops they not only sell coffee, you can find tea, smoothie drinks, so that’s why coffee shops are for everyone, not for coffee lovers only.

You can see now it’s a bit different between Vietnam and where you live I guess, but let me tell you more about how do we drink coffee? Or how is the way we drink it? Sounds very simple and some people wonder if it’s coffee, just drink it like water or other drinks. But it is not really like that. While in Australia – where I’m living now – most people grab a coffee on the way to work, to be awake, or in a restaurant when they have breakfast or for weekend brunch and most of them will be closed after 3pm. In Vietnam – no. Coffee shops open like a restaurant, from 6am or 7am to 10pm, such a long day yes. Over there we go for coffee when we have time, when we finish a long day or long shift then now is time to sit down and enjoy a coffee, smell it, drink it, taste it, feel it and relax. For us drinking coffee is something deserved with a lot of time in our life, not only just a few minutes for a shot of espresso.

Coffee shop is where I used to come during break time between my shifts, sit down for a latte with no sugar after a busy lunch, take time to relax, to be out of work, do something I like and be ready for another busy dinner. Coffee shops are where I used to come at the weekend for seeing friends after some times not meeting, where I meet new friends with the same habit, where for a break in busy lifestyle. I’ve thought that is a normal thing and easy to catch, but I couldn’t find all of those things here.

Sometimes in life the thing was very simple to be so fancy somehow…

Published by Judy

Simple but special

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started